The Wedding of Bang and Chau

What an amazing day!!  I still cannot believe I have photographed a wedding.  And to be able to photograph this gorgeous, loving couple was an absolute dream.  How could I take ordinary photographs of them when they look so good.  Not to mention the rest of the bridal party.  This is simply a day to remember and I am so happy that I could be part of it.

It was a scorcher.  I think it got up to about 38 degrees in the shade and when I discovered it was going to be a garden wedding at Willow Creek Vineyard, I gulped once.  I regained my composure and thought, well, at least the lighting will be good.  The only major consideration I had was the amount of sweat beads that might be highlighted on the faces of my beautiful subjects.  And I was ever so conscious of my own sweat levels.  (Note to self – carry a spare can of deodorant in the car next time.)   It was unbelievably HOT!!

The couple had booked a holiday house in Mount Martha for the family and bridal party to prepare for the wedding.  I was thankful it had aircon.  As this was my first wedding (ever!!), I was incredibly nervous and excited.  But the family made me feel completely comfortable right away, so it was a breeze doing the preparation shots of Bang, Chau, the two flowergirls and the gorgeous bridesmaids, in between taking swigs of water.  I asked Chau how she was doing and she said she was a bit tired from setting up the venue from early in the morning.

Then came the ceremony.  Bang had offered for me to follow him to the venue earlier, but I declined his offer so I could get more shots of the bride getting ready with her bridesmaids.  When it came to driving from Mt Martha to Merricks North, I got lost.  I had the Melways out, the GPS map thingy on my phone, and my own (limited) knowledge of the area.  And I was getting low on petrol.  After pulling the car over twice to check the map, driving up and down the freeway, and realizing the roadworks had changed the location of the road I wanted, I made it to the vineyard well before the bride.  I was thanking my lucky stars that the girls took their time getting ready.  I took a few deep breaths and got my gear out and started taking photos.  Despite the heat, everyone was in a fun mood and I began to relax and really enjoy myself.  And it was obvious why Chau was tired.  She had done a beautiful job with the already breathtaking venue.  The details throughout the inside of the cottage and out were so amazingly done.  She is one creative girl.

The ceremony was beautiful and very emotional.  It was full of love and friendship and I got a little lump in my throat during the exchanging of the vows.

The Willow Creek Vineyard gardens were beautiful and the food was so nice.  I really appreciated the meal, thank you.

I think I have prattled on for long enough.  I hope you enjoy the photos and feel the love.

Chau was hard at work to put this display of their love together. The detail was incredible.

The stunning bridesmaids and adorable flowergirls.

The bottom image shows the table set up for "The Backstage Team" where the thankyou bags were put together to give to the guests as they were leaving.

Bang sang two songs to his new wife. And their friend sang a beautiful Spanish song to the couple.

Another couple of examples of Chau's creativity. The top image is of old photos of the couple displayed in a vintage suitcase on a table. The bottom image shows what all the guests received as a thankyou. Everyone was photographed by her sister on one of those Polaroid instamatic type cameras and everyone got a little bag containing the photos and these trinkets. And yes, that's me in the pics.

My heartfelt thanks to Chau and Bang for your faith in my ability to record your wedding.  I loved every minute of it and wish you all the best in your new life together as husband and wife.  You have truly changed my life and I am forever grateful to you both.  This is an event I will never forget.

6 comments on “The Wedding of Bang and Chau

  1. […] witnessed by very close family and friends.  I was especially happy to spend some time with Bang and Chau who’s wedding I photographed earlier this month.  Chau actually made the bouquets for the […]

  2. […] and flowers at the reception.  The creator of these gorgeous pieces was my first bride ever, Chau.  Chau is one of the most creative people I have ever met.  And she’s an awesome […]

  3. […] and flowers at the reception.  The creator of these gorgeous pieces was my first bride ever, Chau.  Chau is one of the most creative people I have ever met.  And she’s an awesome […]

  4. […] and flowers at the reception.  The creator of these gorgeous pieces was my first bride ever, Chau.  Chau is one of the most creative people I have ever met.  And she’s an awesome […]

  5. […] witnessed by very close family and friends.  I was especially happy to spend some time with Bang and Chau who’s wedding I photographed earlier this month.  Chau actually made the bouquets for the […]

Leave a Reply

