Merry Christmas and Thank You

I was going to upload a cute photo of my dog with a Santa hat, but he just wanted to sleep. So you've got this instead. My kids' fluffy Christmas decoration.

It’s Christmas time again.  That time of the year often means it’s the end of the year too.  Funny about that.  It’s time to reflect on the achievements of the past year and think about goals for the New Year.  My 2011 has been incredible.  I was hugely inspired by Jasmine Star to follow my dream.  While I had a very stable job with regular pay in the Police Force, I searched for years for something more for me within the job.  I found a love and incredible passion for photography while I was on maternity leave in 2007 and thought I could take a decent photo.  I had always wanted my own business, I just didn’t know what sort of business I wanted.  So I took the plunge in May this year, with the support of my husband, Matt, and resigned to be a photographer.  To say I was nervous and scared of leaving the stability of a government job was an understatement, especially considering that stable government job was very good to me for 14 years.  It was a case of “It isn’t you, it’s me”.   But I believed, with the help of my fantastic family and close friends, that I could succeed in something I loved.

So 2012 is even more exciting for me as I branch out into the competitive world of wedding photography.  I hope I can be better than I think I can be.  I am so excited to be part of something so special in a couple’s life together.  To be able to record one of the most beautiful days in anyone’s life is such an honour.  I know that sounds cliched, but it is true.  I love people in love.

I want to thank so many people for helping me realize a dream come true – firstly Matt.  Without you I don’t think I could do it.  And I’d probably be homeless and hungry, of course.  Despite not knowing the ins and outs of photography and business in general, you trusted me to make it work.  Thank you.  To my Mum and Dad and your respective spouses, Albert and Julie, your encouragement and belief in my abilities and talent is endless.  I thank you from the bottom of my heart for everything you have done for me and my little family.  I love you guys more than I can say.  To my Mother and Father-in-laws, again, I couldn’t have done this without your help and support.  Looking after my kids at a moment’s notice when I’ve had to rush to the post office before it closed to get clients orders out on time, giving me extra days almost weekly has been a Godsend, and your encouragement is most appreciated too.  Love.  To my friends, Ange, Nic, Kel, Kaz, Kerry, Mandy, Jo, Rachael M, Clare, Rachelle F, and Sophia you all gave me something that contributed towards this moment.  Your friendship means so much to me and your advice and support and suggestions and brilliant ideas from all of you has absolutely changed my life – definitely for the better.  Loves to you girls too.  I have this horrible feeling I have forgotten someone.   My most humble apologies if I have.  It’s after 11.00pm and it’s been a busy day :/

Thank you to the photographers from around Australia and the world who have inspired me and taught me so much.  There are way too many to name, but I wish you all the best and hope you feel the love.

And my clients.  You don’t know how much joy and warm, fuzzy feelings you have given me over the years.  I have had the best time meeting you in person and chatting with you over the internet.  Your kind words about my work, even in the very early years, has spurred me on to be a better photographer and to strive to give my absolute best to you.  Thank you for your patience, praise and referrals.  Bless you all.
 
(And I have no idea why the font suddenly turned to italics.  I can’t reverse it.  Oh well.  I suppose it adds emphasis.)
 
Now for the resolutions – I am hopeless at making resolutions and even worse at keeping them, but here goes:  I will  ……   nah!!  I just can’t do it.  No wait.  I have one.  I promise to only say something on my blog, facebook and twitter profiles that are positive and happy and fun.  Except when it comes to rogue telecommunications companies.  I think I’m allowed to say bad things about them.  And I have to exercise more and practice my skills more.  See, I can make resolutions.  Wait till next year to see if I kept them 🙂
 
That’s it.  I look forward to staying connected with you all in 2012 and I wish you all a very Happy Christmas and New Year and stay safe.  Love Nic x
One comment on “Merry Christmas and Thank You

  1. Donnie Varty says:

    Great post! Looking forward to more posting from you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

