What I Get Up to When the Kids Take a Nap

I consider myself extremely lucky to have two wonderful kids.  Every day they are showing more and more of their personalities and their knowledge knows no bounds.   I find I am always saying things like, “How did you know that?” and “How do you know how to do that?”  But I am also lucky they are at an age they are still having naps.  This gives me about an hour to play.  One valuable piece of advice (amongst many gems) from an esteemed photographer I found on the web was to practice, practice, practice.  Any chance you get!!!

So when I get a chance I have a play with different lenses, lighting conditions, off-camera flash and then have some fun editing.  Sometimes I just shoot inanimate objects, like coffee cups, the kid’s toys, the chair leg.  Boring!  My favourite subjects are my kids and my dog.  Duh!  Animal photographer.  Here is what I got up to this week:

My dog, Deez,  has been my constant companion since late 2002.  I have absolutely no idea what breeds have mixed to make him who he is.  But that doesn’t matter, because he has a personality that is unmatched.  I am head-over-heels in love with this guy.  He has seen my attention switch from him to a new love, then to two tiny little human kids and through it all, he has taken it in his stride.  Even though I definitely belong to him, he loves the additions to our little family over the past 5 years.  And I love trying to capture new images of him.

Winner of Best Dog Eyes Category

The Best Nose in the World

Study of a Boot

And what about the boots?  Over the last 3 years I have been drawn back into the Western horse scene.  My first horse was a first-cross Quarter Horse who adopted me when I was about 13.  Since photographing for the West Gippsland Quarter Horse Association, the Yarra Valley Quarter Horse Association and the Victorian Paint Horse Association I have had the pleasure of seeing, and photographing, some of the most beautiful pieces of western wear and equipment.  Although I wouldn’t call myself a cowgirl as such, I have always had a thing for Western boots.  About 15 years ago I was given a pair by one of my former bosses.  I was a PA for the Deputy Commisioner of the Dandenong ATO for a short time.  I don’t know why she gave them to me, but I could never quite visualise this rather intimidating female head of a branch of the Tax Office wearing Cowboy Boots.  They never fit me well and were extremely uncomfortable.  Don’t know whatever happened to those boots.  I got a pair for my birthday this year and they are perfect!!!  I love photographing them.  I don’t consider them inanimate.

And then there is self-portraiture.  A frightening area because I hate seeing myself in photographs.  But that is a topic for another post.

Leave a Reply

